1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on Ta and Teaching career

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by sarah662, Apr 8, 2012.

1. sarah662

sarah662 New commenter

Hi all

I want to become a Primary School Teacher and a Ta while I study. I would like so advice on what I can do to enhance my career and give me a solid career base. I have 6 GCSE's A-C and I am currently studying a Level 2 Certificate in Adult Numeracy. I have a Level 3 Teaching Assistant Diploma and a Level 3 Special Educational Needs Diploma both with Distinctions. I am also studying a Level 3 playwork Certificate and I have other training and certificates. I am applying to college for a foundation Degree in Educational Practise in Sep and hope to go on to top it up and into teacher training. I am also considering a Level 3 Children and Young peoples Workforce Diploma.
    Experience wise I have worked with special needs children, worked as a classroom helper, playwork within a school sewith the girlguides as a leader. I hope to get a voluntary placement as a classroom helper in september for a few days a week as my youngest child will be in nursery.

I have been having trouble getting a paid Ta role as i live in a small town and the jobs are few and far between hence studying while I have been at home caring for my children so any advice on any courses or what I can do to further study and experience would be appreciated.

2. sarah662

sarah662 New commenter

Hi all