1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on NQT pay

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by London_Mathematics_teacher, Feb 1, 2020.

?

Accept the offer or keep searching

1. Accept

5 vote(s)
    100.0%
  2. keep searching

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  1. I am a 37-year-old doing PGCE mathematics, I have been offered a job my placement school in inner London, the school offered me M3, but I wanted M4 after some negotiation, they will still only giveM3 but subject to meeting teaching standards and good behaviour management they will double jump this to M5 by the end of NQT year and they say its as good as being on M4.

I have been working as a very successful private tutor for the last 10 years full time, and also hold MSc mathematics from a prestigious university. I can teach mathematics at any level including KS5 further maths FP2, FS2, FM2, D2 etc..

Is the offer I received fair considering my experience and qualifications or do I have better opportunities elsewhere?
    do schools offer M4 or M5 in NQT year?

Salary is important to me, I have a family so need to be able to support my family, I would be happy with M4 inner London or M5 outer London to start with, this school is an outstanding school which I have done well in my first placement.
    I am hoping someone will give me some advice on if I should keep looking for a better offer or accept the offer I was given.

I appreciate the advice.

thank you

2. strawbs

strawbs Established commenter

I would accept it. They are under no obligation to offer anything other than M1.