1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on next step please!

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by KEJREV, May 24, 2011.

1. I am all stressed out!
    I am a teacher of 14 years and have worked for my current head for the past 10 years. 8 years ago, it became apparent that I was not 'in favour' and they attempted to place me on formal competency. After the involvement of my union, this never happened and hasn't to this date (yet!)
    However, despite dealing with it (I have stayed at the school because of its fabulous staff, children and parents), I now feel that the HT has upped the ante a bit and I would appreciate advice on where to go from here.
    The people who see me teach day in and day out tell me that I am a good teacher and they would love their children to be taught by me. I establish excellent relationships with children, parents and staff. I know I am a good teacher. I love my job. But I feel that I am constantly 2nd guessing myself and my stress levels are so high, it is afffecting my health and my family. It also affecting my teaching. It's a viciious circle!
    My concern began early this year, when a leading teacher who was working with me, had a meeting with the HT and then informed me through personal email that she was unable to work with me again. My HT explained it that her HT teacher would not allow her to work with the school anymore due to the tasks my HT had asked her to do.
    Just another point to give context, a colleague asked me to accompany her as support and as a witness when she spoke to HT regarding continuing unprofessionalism towards her. DHT advised them not to take me as the HT would 'somehow blame it on me' and 'make my life hell'.