1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on integrating or dealing with a child with ADHD

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by textilequeen, Jun 7, 2014.

1. Hello. I am a PGCE student doing my final placement in a Year 3 class. I am half way through and it is going well, but I have one student I would value advice on how to deal with him. I am told he has ADHD but he has not got a statement. He has temper tantrums in class, leaping from his seat yelling and rolling on the floor, shouting out and saying rude things about other children. He has hit, pinched and thrown objects at other children. The TA has a good relationship with him and takes him out for a short walk when his behaviour gets out of control, but he often comes back to class and behaves just as badly. Other times he settles down and contributes. The class are very tolerant of him, never saying it is unfair that he is allowed to go get a drink etc when they are not.

The teacher has tried a behaviour book for every lesson, sending him to the deputy head's office, speaking to the parents, meeting the parents. She says the best thing to do is to ignore him and we have put together a plan where if he tantrums he leaves the room with his work and has to complete it in another classroom. We also use a visual timetable to prepare him for the day, morning and afternoon and try to keep the time the children are on the carpet short. He is aggravated by games or movement around the classroom (drama activities) this often triggers a tantrum. He will often shout at me while I am teaching saying that I am doing things wrong. I quietly tell him not to speak to me like that and do not let him have his way.