1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on getting into FE teaching

Discussion in 'Further Education' started by gltownley, Sep 4, 2020.

1. gltownley

gltownley New commenter

Hi all
    I’m after a bit of advice on getting into FE teaching, please.
    I’m currently a primary teacher and have been for 13 years, but I really want to get into either post-16 or adult education. I have a first degree and masters in history and a PGCE.
    I’d be interested in teaching A-Level history, so I’m keeping an eye out for jobs at the local 6th forms, but the advice I’m after is about perhaps getting into teaching on an Access to HE course.
    I really like the idea of teaching a bit of history, English & politics - is that how it works, one lecturer covering different subjects, or do colleges use different part time/ hourly paid lecturers to teach different subjects?
    The second question is what sort of qualifications do they usually look for?
    And finally (!) where are Access to HE jobs usually advertised - I’ve looked all over the net but can’t seem to find any.
    I appreciate that colleges all probably have different ways of working, but if any of you have any nuggets of wisdom or experience that you would like to share, it would be greatly appreciated. I did send out a few emails to the local colleges that have access courses, but no one’s got back to me (it was during lockdown, so I might send them again).
    Thanks in advance!

2. Chesters8

Chesters8 New commenter

I moved from secondary to FE a couple of years ago. I just saw a job advertised and got it but this was in a more shortage subject (maths).