1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on details about past experience on CV

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by thegirlwho, Jan 6, 2011.

1. Hi there,

I'm on my PGCE course at the moment, so have started to write my CV, but I'm in a bit of a pickle as to what to include and what to leave out.

I graduated 4 years ago and I spent 3 and a half years after graduating working in the advertising industry. During this time, I worked for 3 different advertising agencies.

I obviously need to detail this on my CV, but since I had the same role and responsibilities at all 3 places I was wondering if it made sense to just put that I had been a designer for over three years and elaborate by explaining the various companies I had worked for and the skills I've gained from my time in advertising?

Or would it be best to do it traditionally and write down each company, my time there and my specific role. My worry with doing this is it would take up a lot of space and make my CV too focussed on my old career.

I am also worried that having three job's in three years will reflect badly as it looks like I don't stick at anything. That's not the case at all - In the industry I was in it was rare for people to stay anywhere more than 18 months and in all cases I've had very good reasons for leaving (the company merging and changing direction, being headhunted and then leaving to become a teacher!)

Any advice would be gratefully received :)

Thanks!

2. TheoGriff

TheoGriff Star commenter

Welcome to the Forum!
    Why are you writing a CV?
    Surely they haven't told you to do that at your uni?