1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on changing schools or leaving teaching?

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Piscean1, Nov 15, 2018.

1. Piscean1

Piscean1 Senior commenter

Bit of background. I'm in my second year of teaching. I teach at a small primary (single-form entry) and my kids span a real range of abilities (some working at reception level) and have so many needs.

I suffer with anxiety and depression (take medication and usually manage it pretty well). After a bit of a breakdown last year, I ended up really improving and having a very successful year. Although I don't always feel it, I know I am a good teacher for this stage in my career but currently the workload is insane again. There's a lot of scrutiny. Planning scrutinies. Book looks. The marking policy remains insane. New initiatives and additional demands on time constantly. After spouting lots about "improving staff wellbeing" last year, it doesn't actually feel like our workload is improving. My TAs (jobs are) are underskilled and lack initiative.

I can start to feel myself relapsing again and I'm worried about it. I spoke to my line manager and I'm going to go back to the doctor because I do not want to go back to spending evenings crying.

I've been considering my options and just want some advice/opinions really. I don't want to jump out of the frying pan into the fire.

I think it's obvious that I need to seek a change and reduce my working hours. I love my school and it's very friendly but I'm just not prepared to work 7 days a week to get my job done and nor should I have to. So.. My options.

Option 1) Seek a move to a 2-form entry (or more) school.