1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice on being able to teach in Texas

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by lisawelsh, Apr 22, 2016.

1. lisawelsh

lisawelsh New commenter

I have just moved to Texas and am currently trying to get a job. I have my Visa in order, permission to work and have my social security number. I have eight years of teaching experience with a Bachelors in biology, PGDE(S) in Teaching Biology and Science and a Masters of Education in Pastoral Care, Guidance and Student Support. I had been teaching IBMYP, IBDP and IGCSE for three years in Singapore before I moved here.

At the moment, there only seems to be jobs in public schools nearby. My understanding is that I would need Texas Teaching certification (from what I've read, I do not need this for most private and charter schools but I can't find any job openings in my area). I got an interview after meeting with an assistant principal of an IB school at a job fair who was interested in my IB experience but ultimately said I need certification.