1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

advice needed

Discussion in 'Pay and conditions' started by Faldamir12, Jul 15, 2011.

1. Faldamir12

Faldamir12 New commenter

Hi everyone,
    I have recently completed my NQT year and now secured a permanent position with the school, although I am concerned about the amount I will be asked to do in September as I have had no experience teaching IB whatsoever.
    In addition to teaching my main subject I will also be expected to teach;
    KS3 French (approximately 10 hours a fortnight).
    AS Level (8 hours a fortnight).
    IB Philosophy.
    I was recently called into a meeting with SLT and told that I will be expected to teach an additional 3 hours a fortnight of a core module in IB. Those three hours will either be taught during a lunchtime or after school. I understand that if I took this to the union this would be a breach of contractual conditions of teachers without proper consultation.
    We have not even been issued our timetable for September yet!!!! I really need advice here.....Would you take the matter of working during lunchtimes/after school further assuming that the timetables have been finalised?

Thanks and apologies for any typos....really stressed and just don't know what to do! =(

2. emilystrange

emilystrange Star commenter

what one earth is IB?
    if you did your NQT year in that school, why have you only just been made permanent?
    you don't get paid for lunchtimes, so you can't be directed to teach. does your school have a split lunch so you can have your break at a different time?

3. strawbs

strawbs Occasional commenter

International baccalaureate.........

4. Faldamir12

Faldamir12 New commenter