1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed very distressed teacher

Discussion in 'Primary' started by KATIELOU84, Mar 21, 2011.

1. Hi all,
    Really need some advice. Get good results from my children and a few months ago my school had ofsted and received two good lesson. At the moment I feel like as a teacher i can do nothing right. All my lesson observations have been satisfactory or better but had a very difficult conversation with the head a few weeks ago and he has started a mentoring scheme with me (his idea is to tell me what he thinks this will turn me into a consisently good to outstanding teacher.) This however has really knocked my confidence as I am the only one in the school on this scheme and just had a lesson observation and I received a satisfactory grade with some inadequates. I have never been classed as an inadequate teacher before and feel like I have addressed some of his concerns and now he has given me more to address. I have taken one step forward and another two backwards.
    I feel like I am no longer confident in my job and I am not providing a good quality of education for my children. I constantly dread the thought of coming to work and feel like I have done nothing this year but cry.
    Is it time to get a new job or just get out of teaching altogether?
    Thanks for the help as I am very confused and can no longer cope with this situation
    Kate

2. I feel for you as I was in a similar situation a few years ago, feeling constantly under pressure. My advice would be to look for another job. You might feel like like quitting teaching now, but a different school could make a huge difference.