1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed.. thinking of jumping ship

Discussion in 'Private tutors' started by motherofflamingcrows, Feb 28, 2018.

1. motherofflamingcrows

motherofflamingcrows New commenter

Hi all,

I currently work full time in a school, and am feeling very disillusioned with our current education system.I have been thinking about leaving the school classroom, and starting personal tutoring at home instead.
    I teach Maths to GCSE, including to those students with special needs.

Do you think this could work out for me? If so, what advice would you give me?

Thank you in advance.

:)

2. ljane16

ljane16 New commenter

Maths GCSE I found was quite easy to find students for however remember you may struggle to find students in the say time. I would link it to other was to earn as well as tutoring when you are just starting out

3. Vince_Ulam

Vince_Ulam Star commenter

I wonder if many contributors to this particular forum work in the same towns.

4. David Getling

David Getling Senior commenter

There is plenty demand for GCSE maths. However, you must remember that every man and his dog seem to think they can teach this. You will be competing with A-level students, the butcher, baker and the candlestick maker. And many parents will find their ridiculously cheap rates extremely attractive. Then you have got the tuition centres, which are multiplying like a biblical plague, and also offer silly prices.