1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed - pregnant and let go

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by hmckeating, Feb 3, 2011.

1. Hello,
    I am a supply teacher who was given a terms work (verbal contract) from Jan 3rd to easter holidays in a school through a supply agency. I did not know that I was pregnant when I accepted the job but I told them on my first day.
    The post was difficult - behaviour was generally good but one TA off sick for the first 2 weeks of term and one very difficult child with possible SEN (has been assessed but no report recieved yet) who was violent to other children and staff. I was given little support with regards to this child. (head is in his last year before retirement so is "treading water: as described by one TA (who was off due to stress and anxiety due to this one child).
    I have been suffering very badly with morning sickness and have lost half a stone. As a result my doctor told me to take off 2 weeks to receover. I discussed this with my agency and they reassured me that I would always be their main person their and to take the time off to get better.
    This reassured me and I took the time off, being told that my morning sickness would get better by week 12, which it has. I am due to return on Monday and have spent the week planning lessons in preparation only to be told today that the school do not want me back and they are going to keep on the person that they have had in this week.
    I see the school's point of view, I do, but this just seems so wrong to me. I have contacted my union and am waiting to hear back from them, although I think I know the answer.