1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed please

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by will_b_trainee, Feb 1, 2011.

1. I have been teaching for 4 years now, I would describe myself as being very organised and on top on al work specially marking. Sometimes coursework are being marked twice in a week if I see a class twice in a week. I meet all my deadlines and not afraid of working and putting the extra efforts.
    But recently in the department a lot has been changing and there are lots of thing that I am expected to do that I don't think is right.
    - dept meeting during PPD time
    - compulsory catch up after school everyweek
    - setting/running HOD detention
    - preparing scheme of work
    - HOD watching what students are doing in her office via impero software and discipline student after the lesson.
    to name a few. Is it me or is this too much from my HOD.
    I feel that she is watching me all the time and she keep on asking me to do this that and the other
    I would like to go and talk to the head or someone else, but I don't feel comfortable about it. And certainly I don't want to make is worst that it is currently. Can someone please advice and I feel uncomforatable when she is around.

2. magic surf bus

magic surf bus Star commenter

PPA/PPD time should be your own. HoD might argue that meetings come under 'planning', but they should be solely about planning. The alternative is after school.

I'm not sure what monitoring student's screens is supposed to achieve, unless she feels you haven't got the right response to time wasters. I usually take persistent time-wasters completely off the computers for a while. If you do that she won't see any more will she?