1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed for NQT with no Reception experience

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by KarrieGem, Jan 5, 2011.

1. Hi,
    Just wondered if anyone can offer any advice. I am an NQT and have got a job with Year 1 starting later in the year. Before then the school has asked me to do some supply which is mostly with Reception. I have never worked in Reception before. My first day of supply is tomorrow and I am really nervous. I explained that I had never had Reception before and the teacher said she would email me the planning yesterday and that it was self explanatory, but having now looked at the planning today and there are several bits that are blank or I just don't really understand or not sure what the activities referred to are. I don't want the school to think I'm stupid or a bit useless but I've never had Reception before and the planning seems quite vague to me. I really don't want to make a fool of myself but at the moment I feel like it's going to be a bit of a disaster, does anyone have any advice?

K x

2. Hi,