1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed about an ill-thought joke

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by ComputingPunk, Apr 20, 2019.

1. ComputingPunk

ComputingPunk New commenter

A maybe insignificant incident has been playing on my mind over the easter break and I'm just looking for the opinion of more experienced teachers.

I'm a student teacher on my second placement. On my last day before the easter break, I made something of an ill-thought joke that I'm now worried could lead to the termination of my placement.

I can't remember exactly how it went, but in the staffroom, someone picked up a large porcelain dish and said it would be good for hitting someone over the head with it. I jokingly named a pupil. There was a bit of laughter and someone said "that's a little harsh". I justified my comment by explaining how annoying I found the pupil and the conversation trailed off. That was the extent of it, but I'm now worried someone could see it as threatning behaviour and approach SLT.

Safe to say I'd never make a comment like that again. But is it something I should be worrying this much about? Would it be grounds for termination of a placement? Any advice is gratefully received.

2. GirlGremlin

GirlGremlin Occasional commenter

At my place of work, a statement like this would be laughed off. The head has said similar in jest at briefing.

At my former place of work this could have resulted in disciplinary. There's no right or wrong here, I would advise that it will depend on the culture of your school.

3. Robfreeman

Robfreeman Occasional commenter

I'd have probably suggested other objects which would have been more appropriate and joined you in the disciplinary.