1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed - a case where every child doesn't seem to matter and how to complain and get some action

Discussion in 'Primary' started by creno, Jun 29, 2015.

1. I'm a secondary teacher, seeking advice from primary colleagues.

We chose to send out son to village first school, acting head at time sold it as a family style school of 45 where all look out for each other. Son joined in September and loves school, made friends, really happy and we have been happy and supported him and school wherever we can. He has been working in top of three tables in a group which are now his friendship group.

School has two classes, class 1 is reception and year 1 and part way through year some naughty year 1s moved to class 2. On Wednesday we received a letter to say that our son would have same teacher next year with no other info or explanation. The next day our son comes home to say all of his friends have gone to class 2 and he and 5 others stayed behind. We asked him about it and worked out that the class had been separated by age, our son was born in May.

we went to see the class teacher who swiftly passed us on to the head. She could not give us a reason why our son was the only one of the top ability group not to move up and only one of his friendship group too. The answer we got was that it had always been done by age, she said she told us this on the way round ( which she didn't) and the specific reason was our son would have been the next to go up.