1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice needed - 4th year teacher handing notice in with no job to go to = mad?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by Temperance, May 8, 2011.

1. Okay, not sure if this is the right place to post this but any thoughts would be most welcome.
    I've been teaching English for 4 years now, 2 years in Bath and 2 years now in London. I want to become an AST - I am not interested in becoming HOD or the pastoral side I just want to be a really excellent teacher. My current school is not awful but I feel I have been pigeon-holed into teaching bottom sets. I have been given set 6 GCSE (which is bottom set) both this year and last - with the comments of 'you are so good with them'. My HOD has promised that it will be better next year but I don't really trust them. I have bottom sets in years 7 and 8 and a middle ability year 9. I teach one period of Year 12 Literature (which is understandably the highlight of my timetable). I don't really get on with my HOD which I think has made things difficult for me this year. They are unwilling to listen or take on board ideas - insisting that the way they have done things in the past has got the C-grades so there is no reason to change it. We entered Year 10 for early entry exams this year and the results were low, I suggested that my set should be entered next year when their writing style had developed but this was shot down.