1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice for writing an accompanying letter after many years!

Discussion in 'Career clinic' started by spamala, Aug 20, 2019.

1. spamala

spamala New commenter

HI, this is the first time I've written on this type of forum but after some advice!

I've been a KS2 class teacher in the same school for over 10 years and have decided it may be time to move on. I've been updating my CV but haven't written an accompanying letter for a long time. Any top tips or general ideas about style/ content would be gratefully received!

2. CWadd

CWadd Star commenter

Go through the job spec, and write a letter pinpointing exactly how your actions/achievements match it.

For example, you're applying for a post in a school which needs to raise results - you've had several years of good results, you explain how you did that.

Or maybe they're struggling with attendance - you can get the students in.

Don't be too long - a page to page and half is fine.

3. Piranha

Piranha Star commenter

And make sure that you cover everything in the personal specification, even if it is the usual woolly stuff. I would also, if possible, add some reason why you want that particular job/to work at that particular school.

4. Skeoch

Skeoch Lead commenter

It's answering this interview question: "Now, Ms Candidate, we have several excellent people applying for this job; they all have the qualifications and experience we want, just like you do. Why should we choose you over the others?"

5. thejudgesscoresarein

thejudgesscoresarein Occasional commenter