1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice for trainee Math teacher regarding secondary/middle schools

Discussion in 'Trainee and student teachers' started by madroswellfan, Jan 14, 2011.

1. Hey all,
    I'm a trainee math teacher, half way through a SCITT at a secondary school.
    However, Ive been told I'm much better at Year 7 and 8 and not so at 9-11. I love teaching 7s & 8s as I feel that above this the students become rather cocky and I'm not good at controlling their behavior. I can deal with year 8's and all is going well there, but I've been told by my base school to 'think seriously if this trainee course is for you'
    Should I be sticking out the year when my base school is trying to convince me to leave? (Though I change schools in febuary until easter)
    Should I be looking at stopping my course now and then next year doing a middle school trainee program?
    If I completed my secondary SCITT would I be able to teach at a middle school?
    Would appreciate any advice given (since no one has really given me actual advice - it feels like I'm being pushed to do what others tell me!)
    Many Thanks!

2. You can still apply for jobs in a middle school with a secondary qualification, and if you change schools soon I would give the new school a chance. Not all ks4 kids are cocky, you might just have a couple of bad classes. Give it time, not every teacher can fit straight in to every school.