1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice for Teaching is Aus

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by nicola_a_apps, Jan 5, 2020.

1. nicola_a_apps

nicola_a_apps New commenter

I am a History teacher at a secondary school in the UK but have been dreaming about teaching in Australia ever since I worked at an Australian boarding school in 2017.
    I have been a qualified teacher for two years now and am getting increasingly itchy feet to go and teach in Australia. My plan is to apply for jobs in August but in the run up spend any spare time I have doing research into visas, teaching opportunities, living standards etc.
    I want to be well prepared, but it's tricky to know where to start! So I would like some advice. Has anyone moved abroad recently to teach, specifically Australia? What did you have to do to ensure that you were able to emigrate there and get a job? Were there any unexpected challenges thrown your way? Do I need to take some sort of test to analyse my teaching and English skills? Should I apply for visas and then jobs or jobs first?
    So many questions! Any answers would be hugely appreciated :)

2. T0nyGT

T0nyGT Lead commenter

Don't spend a single penny before properly assessing your options. Unless you are willing to teach in an extremely remote area you have close to 0% chance. Visa rules have changed a lot in the past few years. It used to be that you applied and as long as you had a skills assessment and degree you just waited a few months for an invite. Now there are people with PHDs and 20 years experience who still don't have enough to get in.