1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice for teaching a challenging class

Discussion in 'Primary' started by jmassey1, Jan 16, 2011.

1. I am in my last year of a 3year course. I am currently on my prelim visits to the school i have been placed in for my last placement and i will start to teach the 31st of Jan. However, it has come to my attention that the class is very demanding in a number of ways. The children come to school lacking energy and enthusiasm and find it hard to concentrate. If they are facing you and listening it is very rare for them to be listening and learning what your teaching! Even after giving the children the answers to questions, they still look lost. They are very much 'in there own worlds' and are happy to sit and do nothing all day. Behaviour is another issue. Many of the children prefer to walk around the class instead of working at their table. One boy insists on sitting in the bin and shouting abuse at everyone. It would come as no surprise if i was to tell you now that they are not at their expected levels of achievement. In fact, they are at an average level of a reception class. They are still learning phonics-set 1 words- and struggle to blend and spell. It is surprising also, if i get just one line of writing out of them in an hours lessons. A constant reminder to 'keep working' 'what are you doing' is needed for them to wake up and get on with the work.
    I know there is a lot here to consider, but i was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on how i could motivate these children, keep their attention for longer than two minutes or even gain their attention in the first place.