1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

advice for parents re reading and writing for pre-schoolers

Discussion in 'Early Years' started by Hettys, Mar 23, 2011.

1. Hettys

Hettys New commenter

I am a deputy manager at a charity run playgroup for 21/2 to 5 yr olds. We have just had a "Good" Ofsted inspection and are confident that we prepare our pre schoolers well for Reception/Foundation 2. We include lots of Letters and Sounds ph 1 activities in our planning but do not have any structured phonics "teaching". A lot of our parents are beginning to ask us what their children should be able to "read and write" before they start school. I have explained what we do and tried to put their minds at rest that their children will be where they need to be by September but I wonder if there is a user/parent friendly document that I could give to them that explains it all clearly. If not I will produce something for them myself but would rather not "reinvent the wheel" unnecessarily. Thank you.

2. inky

inky Lead commenter

since these children don't hae to be at school, I'd ask the parents what they're doing about it!

3. inky

inky Lead commenter

Do they chat with their children? Do they share books and stories?

etc
    etc

4. Hettys

Hettys New commenter