1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice for first lessons with new classes (NQT)

Discussion in 'Music' started by foxys_folk_faced, Aug 28, 2007.

1. foxys_folk_faced

foxys_folk_faced New commenter

I am an NQT music teacher stating next week and im starting to get quite nervous about starting! Altho not as nervous as this time last year when i didnt know what to expect.

I just wondered if anybody had any good tips or advice for the very first lesson you have with your classes- how to approach them, what to say etc. I just want to establish good ground rules with them and wondered what advice anyone has.

The trouble with the PGCE is that by the time you get into your first placement you have missed most of the first half term so you never get to see how teachers approach the first lesson with new classes.

2. foxys_folk_faced

foxys_folk_faced New commenter

I am an NQT music teacher stating next week and im starting to get quite nervous about starting! Altho not as nervous as this time last year when i didnt know what to expect.

I just wondered if anybody had any good tips or advice for the very first lesson you have with your classes- how to approach them, what to say etc. I just want to establish good ground rules with them and wondered what advice anyone has.

The trouble with the PGCE is that by the time you get into your first placement you have missed most of the first half term so you never get to see how teachers approach the first lesson with new classes.

3. Establish right from the word go what your behaviour expectations are and don't deviate from that at all or let anything go.