1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice about leaving teaching

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by pepsi14, Dec 10, 2015.

1. pepsi14

pepsi14 New commenter

I'm in my third year of teaching and although I love being in the classroom, the workload has always been a huge challenge (nothing surprising there!!). In my previous school, this was made even more difficult by terrible, unsupportive management. I looked for a job in a new school hoping that things would be different. I started at my new school in September and the management is fantastic but the workload is still insane, if not even worse than my previous job. I think this paired with the stress of moving to a new school, taking on a new role of responsibility in a new department, has really overwhelmed me.

I've not been coping at all, and though I tried to keep everything bottled up and just get through the first half term, this half term has been awful. I've had meltdowns in school and have had to take sick days simply because I was too panicked/upset to go in. I went to the GP yesterday and have been signed off for two weeks for work related anxiety. My head of department has been as supportive as possible but there is only so much she can do.

That's the background…my main question is that I decided a few weeks ago that I just can't be a teacher anymore. Moving to a new school has shown me that it wasn't just bad management, it's the job itself. I told myself I would wait it out until the end of the year but I now just don't know if I can wait that long.