1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Advice about a creative course

Discussion in 'Computing and ICT' started by WillowFae, Nov 10, 2015.

1. WillowFae

WillowFae New commenter

Hi,

I'm an RS teacher but before I went into teaching I was a web developer - server side scripting mainly. We currently offer ICT at our school so have no computer science teacher, so I thought I'd pick a few brains here.

Friday afternoons at school involves a creative curriculum where students across the school can choose do to something 'different'. From archery or wake boarding in the sporting arena, to first aid or baby sitting skills. Some teachers offer options based around their subjects (History detectives springs to mind) others offer something completely different (one of our Science teachers offers an option in fabric painting).

I have been asked if I will offer something on web development. We are talking a 10 week course for an hour a week. It obviously leads to no qualification, just a chance to learn new skills.

Has anyone by any chance done something similar to this?

2. jpgreenwood

jpgreenwood Occasional commenter

Sounds like it could be great for you, and for the kids. I wouldn't go looking for a packaged course, I'd write my own. Anything developed by someone else will need so much tweaking that it becomes a false economy.

You need to know how much time you have, the age(s) and level(s) of ability of the kids, as well as what's possible & what's not in your school - software, webspace, FTP access - and then get planning.