1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

adult students complaining

Discussion in 'Modern foreign languages' started by joycirclelanguages, Jul 2, 2019.

1. joycirclelanguages

joycirclelanguages New commenter

I have been teaching languages for a while now and I believe I have a lot of experience, as I try to update my material regularly. I use structured lessons based on adult evening language courses. I've always enjoyed teaching MFL to adults and I usually seem to have happy students. However, just recently, I've encountered some issues which have challenged me. I have a few mixed ability groups with different age groups, which means that some have seen some aspects of the language before or are able to grasp it faster. So the latter group will always have one or two students who complain the course it's too slow. Yet it's my old students (in age), the ones who struggle the most, who are regular attendees and good payers. On the other hand, I had students in the past saying I was going too fast! Therefore I slowed down and I have the ones who say it's too slow. I do lots of pairwork with them and try to give lots of speaking practice.