1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ADHD pupil: A bit of a problem on Thursdays!

Discussion in 'Teaching assistants' started by suzette, Dec 29, 2011.

1. suzette

suzette New commenter

Hi, I'm fairly new to the school I'm in and working 1:1 with a pupil with ADHD. I have had a vast amount of experience working with pupils with ADHD and SEN in the past and even though I say so myself I am doing a good job working with this current pupil and we have formed a really good working relationship together and she is coming on in leaps and bounds in class. (The Head Teacher and other staff have also commented positively).
    The trouble is that there is a particular teacher that does PPA for my teacher on Thursday afternoons who is often calling me out of my lunchbreak to deal with this pupils' behaviour. Generally this pupil has been responding well to the things that I have introduced with regards to behaviour and structure and I have passed this information onto my teacher and this teacher who covers the PPA. I have even given the teacher work/things/tips and things the teacher can do if her attention is straying and she needs a 'brain break' from the work set.