1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

ADHD and xray

Discussion in 'Parenting' started by hhhh, May 24, 2012.

1. hhhh

hhhh Star commenter

Am asking this here as many of you may have some knowledge as teachers and parents, a woman at our group has a son she thinks has ADHD (not sure of exact age but he looks a good bit older than mine so would guess 5ish), and says that it can be seen on a scan or xray but that we don't do them in this country. As a teacher I should surely know about this but had never heard of it being picked up in this way, had only heard of psych eds disgnosing? Am I wrong? Woul dlove to pass on any info to help the family. Plus as a teacher maybe I need to update my own knowledge, I should know these things

2. hhhh

hhhh Star commenter

Am asking this here as many of you may have some knowledge as teachers and parents, a woman at our group has a son she thinks has ADHD (not sure of exact age but he looks a good bit older than mine so would guess 5ish), and says that it can be seen on a scan or xray but that we don't do them in this country. As a teacher I should surely know about this but had never heard of it being picked up in this way, had only heard of psych eds disgnosing? Am I wrong? Woul dlove to pass on any info to help the family. Plus as a teacher maybe I need to update my own knowledge, I should know these things

3. I teach special needs children, many with ADHD and I have never known of diagnosis through x-ray. MRI scans of brains to look at brain trauma / skull surgery but not ADHD which would be considered a psychological and chemical imbalance disorder.

4. FSharp

FSharp New commenter