1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Acting Head?

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by noblesteed, Feb 10, 2011.

1. I am an experienced teacher in a small primary school, teaching EYFS and KS1 in the same class. We do not have a SLT or anyone with 'official' management responsibilities, however I am in charge of KS1, EYFS, Numeracy, TA line manager and several other areas. I feel that this is more than enough for me to manage. I have no real wish to be a Headteacher and am happy in a middle leader role.
    My Head has announced that she will be going off sick for several months in the summer and has asked me to take on the role of Acting Head. I will be allowed one day out of class to carry out this role. I would like some advice regarding exactly what this role will entail as I have no experience of headship whatsoever. The summer term is already busy for me as I have KS1 SATS and FS profiles to produce as well as end of year reports to write, a weeks' residential trip for Y6 along with my other duties, plus I am getting married in the summer holidays so I have a wedding to arrange! My Head would like a decision from me as to whether I am willing to do the Acting Headship. What kind of salary should I expect for doing this?
    Thank you in advance for any advice you can give!