1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Acting Head - to apply?

Discussion in 'Headteachers' started by ABCDETeacher, Aug 25, 2020.

1. ABCDETeacher

ABCDETeacher New commenter

Morning all,

I'm currently attempting (so far unsuccessful) to transition to mainstream after time working in the SEN sector. My background is 12yrs in mainstream, (incl. HoD, SENCO & AHT roles) before taking on a Head of T&L role followed by a Headship at a small special school and then into my current role as an LA Head of Virtual School. I love working with vulnerable learners, but feel ready for a change.

Anyways, an Acting Headship at a small secondary school is being advertised internally by the LA. The Head is on long term sick, and the DHT who is currently Acting HT is going on mat. leave. There's areas that the latest OFSTED report highlights such as poor attainment for disadvantaged groups and inadequate safeguarding systems that I think I could put right, so I see the value I could add.

My two questions are:
    1. I've had three interviews for DHT roles in mainstream last term at much larger schools, and been unsuccessful. Is it worth putting my time into this application, or should I be looking at DHT/AHT roles?
    2. Am I totally mad to be considering this? It sounds as though the school is in a bit of a pickle, and as it's a temp role I may not have the time/autonomy to implement the changes I would like.
    Thanks in advance!

Last edited: Aug 25, 2020
  2. asnac

asnac Lead commenter

From the LA's point of view you are surely a strong contender for this.
    • It's internal and you're known
    • You have a lot of leadership experience