1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Achieving grade 9

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by bramblesarah, Oct 22, 2019.

1. bramblesarah

bramblesarah New commenter

Hi all,
    I currently work as a part-time Maths tutor and part-time LAC teacher. I am qualified secondary maths teacher. When I worked in schools I didn't have a top set year 11 class (always taught by the HOD) and as such have never taught a student who has achieved a grade 9. I tutored a boy last year who got a 9 in his mock but then only got a grade 7 overall. I have a few students this year who want to achieve a grade 8/9. My question is what do these students need to do to achieve this grade in your opinion? I thought that grade 9 is for great mathematicians who can use what they have been taught and apply in it new ways. Therefore this is difficult to teach other than giving the students lots of experience with these kinds of questions and coaching the students to try to brake down the question. In addition what topics do you think these students need more help with? The two that spring to mind are Frustums and the harder ratio questions which involve setting up algebraic equations. Any general advice how to teach the very brightest students and perhaps a way of telling students that dispite what there target grade is they are never going to get a 9 in a month of Sunday's!

2. adamcreen

adamcreen Occasional commenter