1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Accounting A-level

Discussion in 'Business studies' started by tahutt81, Nov 9, 2011.

1. tahutt81

tahutt81 New commenter

Hi,
    I've been teaching AQA accounting for the past 4 years and also examine unit 1 and 2 papers. The best book to buy is the Ian Harrison books, they do one for AS and on for A2. These cover all aspects of the syllabus and have plenty of practice questions in. Don't buy the teacher resource though as it is not worth the money.
    I have ended up producing a lot of my own resources so if you get stuck for anything give me a shout. Another useful website which has some stuff on which you can then adapt is the following: http://wps.prenhall.com/ema_uk_he_wood_busacct_9/2/555/142145.cw/index.html
    You have to sift through it but there are some good multiple choice questions and tasks for students to complete.
    Tim

2. If you can, make life interesting by using spreadsheets to work on some problems: they learn accounting and spreadsheeting that way. If you do this properly it helps them to plan, organise and check their work. Smart pupils could even help you by finding spreadsheet tricks and shortcuts too!

There are lots of real accounting stories in the press and magazines: use them as the basis for practical lessons and debates etc.

Students LOVE to learn about accounting scandals like Madoff, Enron, Ahold ... The fairly recent Indian accounting scandal, Satyam. There's a new film on the Madoff scandal too that's worth watching with GOOD pupils.

Read annual reports and accounts! Especially the accounting policies in the notes to the accounts as there are lots of real and interesting things in there!

Duncan