1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Accommodation expectations

Discussion in 'Teaching abroad' started by Matt29x, Aug 19, 2019.

1. Matt29x

Matt29x New commenter

Hi there,

I am an early years teacher in the UK (3 years) and I am desperate to teach somewhere outside of the UK. I have narrowed my interest down to Shanghai, Tokyo and the UAE (I like big cities). I am curious to know from families out there their experience with accommodation. We are having our first baby within the next few months. I want to know the expectations in accommodation for a small family.

Many thanks,

Matt

2. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

What sort of accommodation you might get varies enormously from school to school and from city to city. There is no standard rule and different schools do things differently. Some schools will provide teachers an apartment, while others will give you an accommodation allowance and then arrange for you to meet some rental agents. You will view some properties and then decide which one you like. That is how things worked for us in Shenzhen.

When I was teaching in the UAE, the school provided an apartment for Mr. and Mrs. Hippo, but it was more or less empty. We had to BUY lots of second-hand furniture from the school. The plural garden implement school did not reimburse us when we left!

In Qatar, you could receive an allowance if you did not want to live in the accommodation provided by the school. The bad news was that the allowance was well below the market rate for something even half decent.