1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Accelerating the grievance process?

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by daisy2019, Jun 17, 2019.

1. daisy2019

daisy2019 New commenter

I have been working at my current place as a teacher for a year and am in my late twenties. It is my NQT year, although I have been working as a teacher for 4 years (did QTS on the job last year at my last place). Things are generally great and I am very happy here. A few months ago, a new member of staff joined our department as a subject leader. Recently he was chosen to take over as Head of Faculty from September. None of us really know him or have had much interaction with him, he mostly keeps himselfto himself. Last week, I had quite an unpleasant encounter with him.

Asking him if I could borrow a piece of stationary from his room (second time I have ever asked but other teachers/ students ask him multiple times apparantly) led to him being quite rude. When I came to see him about this a little while later, he was very unpleasant towards me and unleashed a torrent of abuse on me, making false accusations about how I 'always use his stationary' when it is only the second time in 6 months, saying that as an NQT I don't have a right to answer back to him, and that I have to 'be careful or I might not pass my NQT year'. This person has also been making things quite difficult for the other young person in our team for the last few months, trying to get him sacked for incompetency, who is now lodging a full grievance against him.