1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Abuse of staff in an SEBD school

Discussion in 'Behaviour' started by denisemcl23, Aug 24, 2011.

1. Hi

I am looking for advice regarding a situation within the Behaviour unit that my mum works in. My mum, an SEN is constantly abused by the pupils within the school and has been for a number of years although this year the children have been particularly violent. It is primary school. Her management seems to make comments like "it is a behavioural unit" when incidents happen and really provides no back up for her staff. Today my mum has ended up in A & E with a broken finger. This is only one in a long line of injuries. As a qualified primary teacher, I know that this would not be tolerated in our school no matter what the circumstances.

My mum loves her job and does not want to lose it by going above her bosses head and complaining. From the way management talk, I have no doubt they would try to push her out anyway they could without allowing cause for an unfair dismissal case.

I want to complain on her behalf! I am so tired of my mum being abused at her work.

Any advice would be appreciated.

2. Hi, I no longer work within an educational establishment, but within a residential care setting for children and young people with extreme behaviour difficulties, many with Autistic Spectrum Conditions and/or SEBD.
    Within our contracts there is a clause that highlights the potential risks of working with people who display violent behaviour and requiring all employees to undertake PBM training on an annual basis (similar to TeamTeach).
    I would have thought that in your situation, all staff would be offered similar training.