1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

Absolutely blank slate, no ties - so where?

Discussion in 'Teaching overseas' started by loopy28, Feb 14, 2012.

1. Hi all,

I'm in my 4th year of primary teaching and ready for a change. I'm single, renting and have no ties aside from my student loan which is ticking away in the background.

So I'd like some advice - if you could go and work anywhere in the world, where would you go? I'm not particularly well travelled, nice weather would be good and savings would be a bonus, but most importantly I'm looking for somewhere I'd settle in easily and make lots of friends. I've followed these forums closely for the past 12 months but it seems to be a minefield of conflicting opinions!

All advice welcome! Thanks x

2. I am in a similar situation. No ties and could go anywhere. Would like to find a long-term base and save a lot of money.
    Any suggestions?

3. the hippo

the hippo Lead commenter Community helper

My suggestion would be to go to the "international jobs" section of the TES. You must see what jobs are available and in which countries. Then you should apply for some (or most) of them. After that, you just have to wait and see if you will be given any interviews. I am not sure that I would want to apply for any teaching jobs in Syria or Iran at the moment, but I am now a rather old and cautious hippopotamus.
    If cindycindy would like to find a long-term base and save a lot of money, I would recommend buying a house in Bulgaria. Our six-bedroomed house in the mountains only cost us £20,000, whereas properties in the UK are perhaps a bit more expensive.