1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

About to start - advice?

Discussion in 'English' started by Adam1985, Jul 7, 2011.

1. I am new to teaching and just got my first job, which I'm very excited about. I am an English graduate and don't yet have a formal teaching qualification, but will be working towards one once I have started at the school. The school I'm working at is good and the students are apparently generally well-behaved.
    I know that teaching is an art and that techniques for teaching effectively develop over time, but I was hoping I might be able to pick up some advice from here.
    Is there anything you wish you had known before you started? Any books that really helped you? Do you have particular tips of pieces of advice you could share?
    Anything at all, no matter how seemingly frivolous would be greatly appreciated!
    Adam

2. regentsreject

regentsreject Occasional commenter

Be prepared to be absolutely shattered - physically, mentally and emotionally. Teaching English is the hardest job I've ever done. [​IMG]
    Be prepared to be surprised, stimulated and excited by the students you teach - by their endlessly varied characters, strengths, needs , ideas, questions. Teaching English is the most stimulating job I've ever done![​IMG]
    Don't expect to finish your work - ever! especially marking - an English teacher's work is never done!
    Pace yourself - be realistic about what you can achieve and how much time you should spend on lesson planning, marking etc. Remember that you have a life too.