1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A Question for Y1 teachers about spellings

Discussion in 'Primary' started by Biscuitsneeded, Jul 7, 2011.

1. I am a secondary teacher (MFL) and am hoping for some honest advice from primary teachers so I can know whether or not I am worrying over nothing. My son is in Y1 at school. He is doing well according to his teacher, appears to be quite able in maths, has friends, behaves well etc. His reading is not amazing but is apparently fine for his age (Oxford Reading Tree L9). He is an articulate and inquisitive little boy. HOWEVER we are really struggling with the weekly spellings. He gets six words to learn on a sheet of paper with several columns to practice in using the Look See Cover method. Often we fill up the whole sheet and he is still making lots of mistakes. Or he can get the spellings right after lots of practice but has completely forgotten them again by the time he takes the test. I mentioned to his teacher that we were having to work very hard on them even to get 4 out of 6 in the weekly test and she just said that he is doing fine. However, I know many of his friends just glance through the spellings or write them out once and can manage them with no problems. I also know I never had any problems with spelling as a child and spent no time at all practising for tests. I don't want to be a neurotic or pushy mother, but he is in a big and very diverse class and I wonder if the teacher sees him as a relatively able child and therefore hasn't really noticed that he is struggling to spell. Or is it, in fact, entirely normal to practise five times and still not be able to remember a spelling at age 6?