1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A little advice needed

Discussion in 'Jobseekers' started by lemon_meringue_pie, Jun 20, 2012.

1. Hello all!
    I need a little advice. I am currently in my second term on my NQT year at a school which is closing in 4 weeks and merging with another school in September. This school is completely new. As I was on a fixed-term contract I was not able to apply for a position in the first instance, but now that all the other teaching staff have been appointed/made redundant/found another employment, the new head has said that there is a position for me.
    My degree is in Key Stage 2/3 MFL. I currently teaching Key Stage 3 English and French. The new post in for a full time English teacher with the hope of becoming a Key Stage 2/3 teacher in September 2013.
    Also, I moved to the opposite side of the country and left my boyfriend of 5 years behind to live on my own and begin my career (he lives with parents).
    This is where my problem arises. I would like to take the job but it has been hard being away from family and friends. Most the time I find this harder than the actual job! I told my boyfriend about this new job offer. He knows I have not yet been able to find employment for September and that it is causing me sleepness nights. However, by the sounds of it he is unwilling to move himself. He wants to stay where he is, near his friends and family, near his job (he only works 3 days a week :S ).