1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A-Level Teachers' Support Group (aka help me!)

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by brookes, Feb 14, 2008.

1. Am supposed to be teaching year 12's S1 for this summer's exam.

I'm concerned that:-

- we've only just finished recapping the KS4 stuff and haven't even started on the A-Level stuff;

- in class tests some are not even picking up a single mark (on the KS4 topics we've done);

- I'm inexperienced in as much as this is my first year teaching A-Level, and think there'd be fewer problems if I wasn't;

- I see them once a week on a Friday afternoon (meaning that I saw them 4 hours last half term and will see them 3 hours next half term!).

I want to get this remedied and need an emergency plan putting in action (for the 3 hours I see them next half term).

2. Am supposed to be teaching year 12's S1 for this summer's exam.

I'm concerned that:-

- we've only just finished recapping the KS4 stuff and haven't even started on the A-Level stuff;

- in class tests some are not even picking up a single mark (on the KS4 topics we've done);

- I'm inexperienced in as much as this is my first year teaching A-Level, and think there'd be fewer problems if I wasn't;

- I see them once a week on a Friday afternoon (meaning that I saw them 4 hours last half term and will see them 3 hours next half term!).

I want to get this remedied and need an emergency plan putting in action (for the 3 hours I see them next half term).

3. Sorry, this is not going to be much help but - you need more teaching time. Students find S1 difficult due to the questions being difficult to interpret.

If you look through some past papers you will see the type of question that will come up: