1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A level music Harmony

Discussion in 'Music' started by jojo_pie, Jan 10, 2012.

1. Hi Everyone,

I was wondering if there was anyone out there who could help me with the harmony aspects of unit 3 and unit 6 edexcel music. I am wanting to start 4 part harmony with y12s and y13s, so that they have had a lot of practice. Does anyone have any good resources (with answers) that i would be able to use? This is my first year of delivering the course, and the head of music at my school is not very supportive.

2. The ABRSM Harmony book by Butterworth: Harmony in Practice works well and has answers - I LIKE answers because I do sometimes get stuck with my harmonisations - especially the trixy details like german 6ths and phrigian cadences. it's all in there for them and for you and builds the knowledge up slowly from the basics.
    Analysing some hymn tunes helps as well - once you have taught them how to recognise and lable chords using the roman numeral system. I set one of these for homework every week for four weeks near the start of the course.

3. I got the book Four Part Harmony by Classroom Resources after someone recommended it (on this forum I think). The price put me off at first, but I you can claim a 50% reduction if you agree not to photocopy it.

It was just what I was looking for; comprehensive yet concise. It filled up a few gaps in my knowledge, and it was written in a way that pupils could understand.