1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A-Level English Lit - Chaucer

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by MeliorateH, Oct 26, 2016.

1. MeliorateH

MeliorateH New commenter

Hi there, if you teach Chaucer, how long do you spend on it? I'm a little new to A-level teaching and there is no scheme of work. Help! (can you smell the desperation?) Thank you very much.

2. Robert_Frost

Robert_Frost New commenter

I'm pretty much doing it line by line to 'translate it' and we talk as we go. Which text are you doing?

3. MeliorateH

MeliorateH New commenter

Hi there, we're doing the Merchant's Tale. I've had them working in pairs on sections of the text, blown up on A3. We've also watched bits of the animated version. But beyond going through line by line, I'm struggling with any more varied strategies.

4. blueskydreaming

blueskydreaming Lead commenter

At my first PGCE placement I taught 'Wife of Bath' - the text was divided up among the students, and they were responsible for the translations (as homework), which they then presented and explained to the rest of the class.