1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A Level Chemistry Teaching

Discussion in 'Science' started by Friar Tuck, Nov 21, 2011.

1. I have an interview for a job that will involve a lot of A Level teaching and wanted more experienced Teachers' thoughts on a few things. I have a lot of sporadic experience of A Level teaching on Supply. I was wondering which topics you find are the most difficult to teach or for students to grasp? Also how do you avoid the temptation for "chalk and talk" when teaching things that require a lot of explanation. Many thanks

2. ScienceGuy

ScienceGuy Occasional commenter

In general the areas that pupils find the most difficult are calculations and areas of chemistry where the work is mainly conceptual e.g. electron shells, bond angles etc.
    It is very hard to avoid chalk and talk for at least part of the teaching but, like any other class, it is important to get a balance between teacher centred work and pupil centred work e.g. working through exam questions, practical work, problem solving, presentations etc. Equally requiring pupils to properly prepare for the lesson and read up on the work to be covered allows more time to work on misconceptions and less time going over the facts repeatedly to ensure knowledge