1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A-level Chemistry Help

Discussion in 'Science' started by KingKong, Feb 6, 2011.

1. KingKong

KingKong New commenter

Hi there i'm hoping someone out there can help.
    My son is doing a-level chemistry (OCR A). He was given a past paper question which stated 'how does increasing the concentration afftect the half life of a first order reaction?' The mark scheme it doesnt have any affect.
    Having searched the internet, all sources seem to say that increasing the concentration increases the rate of reaction. If this is the case why doesnt it affect the half life of a first order reaction?
    Hope someone out there can explain it to me in basic terms as Im a non chemist. My son has spoken to his chemistry teacher but he is still a little confused.
    Many thanks

2. KingKong

KingKong New commenter

Hi there i'm hoping someone out there can help.
    My son is doing a-level chemistry (OCR A). He was given a past paper question which stated 'how does increasing the concentration afftect the half life of a first order reaction?' The mark scheme it doesnt have any affect.
    Having searched the internet, all sources seem to say that increasing the concentration increases the rate of reaction. If this is the case why doesnt it affect the half life of a first order reaction?
    Hope someone out there can explain it to me in basic terms as Im a non chemist. My son has spoken to his chemistry teacher but he is still a little confused.
    Many thanks

3. I have a BSc degree in Chemistry with Mathematics, however I still stuggle to see why it would not affect the reaction?
    What paper was he given?

4. There are two things to consider here;