1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A Level Chemistry Help Please

Discussion in 'Science' started by Alena, Jan 4, 2011.

1. Alena

Alena New commenter

Hello All,

I am new to this part of the forum, but a fairly regular poster in personal. I'm hoping for some advice from anyone who teaches the AQA A Level Chemistry Specification.

I am looking to do a second degree (currently a primary school teacher) but need Chemistry A Level in order to get on to the degree course. My questions are these:

How possible is it to do the course as a private candidate? AQA accept private candidates, but you have to be affiliated to a centre for the exams. I have a list of local centres to try and contact over the next few days.

Would a candidate struggle to undertake the exams if they had not had regular access to the practical aspects of the exam?

I took Chemistry A level in 1993, but didn't make it to the second exam (long story). I know the exam specification has changed since then and would look to get a private tutor to work alongside me at home (I can't afford to give up my full time teaching job, in case I don't get on to the second degree course).

Any help or advice you could give would be greatly appreciated. My current Head is very flexible and would allow me to take time off to fit in exams and if necessary time off to undertake practical sessions, but at the moment I really need some expert opinions from people who know the course well.

Many thanks,

Alena

2. Alena

Alena New commenter

Hello All,

I am new to this part of the forum, but a fairly regular poster in personal. I'm hoping for some advice from anyone who teaches the AQA A Level Chemistry Specification.