1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A level advice please

Discussion in 'Mathematics' started by sun seeker, Jan 7, 2012.

1. sun seeker

sun seeker New commenter

Hi all , I am writing om behalf of my nephew, He is bright and looking to possibly be a pilot. He has been told he will be a solid B at GCSE and thinking of doing A level maths. Someone has recently told him unless he is capable of an A he will struggle at A level . Can someone tell me if this is true please? I am worried enough as I am no maths expert and have helped him in the past - when he was at primary school!! LOL. As head of a primary school I am sure A level will be beyond me

2. DM

DM New commenter

Most GCSE Grade B students struggle with A Level mathematics (quite a few GCSE A* students struggle in fact).
    Most pilots have good A Levels in mathematics and physics. Your nephew can become a pilot without them but he may have to find about £100,000 to pay for the training himself.

3. sun seeker

sun seeker New commenter

wow! that was quick. He is looking to do maths , geography and a science. Not sure if this science is specific or combined or even if a combimed one is possible at A level. Does it have to be physics? Do you know if the RAf are any different?

4. DM

DM New commenter

It is phenomenally hard to become a RAF pilot. I don't think they are recruiting at all at the moment. Their website suggests you need two A Levels in any subject but the reality is that every successful applicant has three or four A Levels and top grades in maths and physics. If your nephew has anything less than perfect eyesight then he would not be considered anyway.