1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A Job I Thought I'd Love...

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by geordieinsheffield, Oct 5, 2019.

1. geordieinsheffield

geordieinsheffield New commenter

I am Deputy Head in a large secondary school. My responsibilities changed in the last year or so to Inclusion, Behaviour, Safeguarding & Attendance. Over the past year I have felt more depressed and isolated than I have ever felt in my career. I've been a teacher for 18 years and used to love it. Now every day I dread going into work.

My job is a thankless one - behaviour never improves enough; attendance is always too low; my team are not working effectively enough. I am the DSL (we do not have a safeguarding officer). I am expected to pick up all safeguarding issues and deal with them. I am currently working roughly 90 hours a week and cannot go on.

Last year, I was put on an 'informal' support plan. It certainly felt formal enough for me. I feel that I am the scapegoat, and that I will be easy thing to change if the time comes. And yet, I have two children under 3 and a responsibility to them and my partner that I feel is so heavy that I can barely stand up.

What do I do? My confidence is gone. I look constantly for a move to another school and have no confidence to even write an application, let alone go to an interview. I feel like a shell of the person I used to be.

2. peakster

peakster Star commenter

Get out - you must.

3. FrankWolley

FrankWolley Star commenter

Agree with post #2.

Pomza, Teacher_abc123, Jamvic and 8 others like this.
  4. rooney1

rooney1 Occasional commenter