1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A Hypothetical one from a class discussion

Discussion in 'Workplace dilemmas' started by llanelliboy, Mar 14, 2012.

1. llanelliboy

llanelliboy New commenter

I'm a pre-service teacher and this came up in a class discussion. The source movie is Election.

Your school has allowed the students to elect the president of their student council. You and a colleague are the staff advisers. During the vote count, a student whom both you and your colleague perceive as inappropriate for student council president wins the election by three votes. The second-place candidate is perceived by both of you as a better choice for student council president. Your colleague destroys four of the ballots, giving the school council presidency to the runner-up. What do you do?

Any thoughts?

2. llanelliboy

llanelliboy New commenter

I'm a pre-service teacher and this came up in a class discussion. The source movie is Election.

Your school has allowed the students to elect the president of their student council. You and a colleague are the staff advisers. During the vote count, a student whom both you and your colleague perceive as inappropriate for student council president wins the election by three votes. The second-place candidate is perceived by both of you as a better choice for student council president. Your colleague destroys four of the ballots, giving the school council presidency to the runner-up. What do you do?

Any thoughts?

3. Gardening Leaves

Gardening Leaves New commenter