1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded education professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A culture of bullying amongst staff

Discussion in 'Secondary' started by BlackBullet, Jun 24, 2019.

1. BlackBullet

BlackBullet New commenter

Good evening fellow teachers :)

I have been teaching now for 5/6 years and have had some good experiences but also a particularly awful one, involving bullying by my head of department, to add insult to injury, this also involved the subsequent 'brushing under the carpet' approach by the senior leadership team at my school when it got to the point where I made the decision to have a meeting with my hod, deputy head and my union rep. This is the first time I have ever posted... Although I have been a member of TES for 6 years.

I know that there have been endless threads regarding (unfortunately) the negative experiences many teachers have experienced within school in relation to bullying of staff by heads of department and even senior members of staff (people with power/status).

I suppose really, I am seeking advice as to how best to deal with the fact of being in a school, in which there is an overt culture of bullying. Numerous colleagues, both in my own dept and others, have experienced bullying. My question is, how can this issue possibly ever be dealt with when even the headteacher dismisses any complaints that are ever made, whether they be formal or otherwise? I do feel trapped. I know I am a good teacher and work incredibly hard (like so many others) yet; it is so demoralising to know that nothing ever changes or improves...