1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Hi Guest, welcome to the TES Community!

Connect with like-minded professionals and have your say on the issues that matter to you.

Don't forget to look at the how to guide.

Dismiss Notice

A bit nervous about supply teaching! ....

Discussion in 'Supply teaching' started by thedancingqueen, Aug 29, 2011.

1. I graduated from a three year primary ed degree in July and now plan to do a year's supply to gain some more experience. I'm hoping that after that I will have a full time job to look forward to, but I don't feel ready for that just yet. I've signed up with a supply agency and hopefully I'll be working soon, but I'm a little nervous. One worry is how flexible I'm going to need to be (teaching different year groups) and I'm questioning my ability to think on my feet too. My previous placements (with a year 1, 3 and 5 class) were quite stressful and tiring, but rewarding and fun too. I was obviously able to prepare resources in advance and read up on topics that I didn't know much about. With supply teaching though, I can imagine myself going into school and having to teach something that I know very little about. Even if I had the worksheets, I'd feel like I could've done a much better job if I'd had time to read up on it in advance. I'm a bit of a perfectionist. I'm also worried about being in a situation where no work has been left by the teacher. I don't know how quickly I'd be able to come up with ideas on the spot and it would be even harder if again it was for a topic which I know very little about. I know my weaker areas and I've been doing a bit of wider reading this summer which may or may not come in handy. I know that there will be many additional challenges along the way and these are just a couple of my concerns. I am looking forward to it. I just am not really sure how to prepare for it all, before I actually start the supply work.